EP mediators welcome President Ivanov’s decision to unblock new government

Members of the European Parliament Eduard Kukan (EPP, SK), Knut Fleckenstein (S&D, DE) and Ivo Vajgl (ALDE, SI), EP mediators for the 15 July 2015 Przino Agreement, issued the following statement in response to President Ivanov’s decision to mandate Zoran Zaev to form a new government.


“We welcome the decision of President Ivanov, following the initiative of the Sobranie, to give a mandate to Mr Zaev as an important step forward in the process of forming a new government. We hope that this constructive spirit will inspire all political parties to overcome their differences and work towards reconciliation in the common interests of all citizens.


We expect the swift establishment of a new government that should pursue with vigour an inclusive and reformist consensus on the Przino Agreement and Urgent Reform Priorities. All of this is vital to put the country back onto the path of European integration, which all parties have committed to and which the citizens want and deserve.


As we have said before, the European Parliament is ready to work with the Sobranie in fulfilling the aspirations of its citizens and on the necessary reforms to move the country forward on its European path.”

Email this to someoneTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook