EP mediators once more urge to end the delay in forming a new government

EP mediators once more urge to end the delay in forming a new government

Members of the European Parliament Eduard Kukan (EPP, SK), Knut Fleckenstein (S&D, DE) and Ivo Vajgl (ALDE, SI), EP mediators for the 15 July 2015 Pržino Agreement, met with Minister for Foreign Affairs Mr Nikola Poposki before the Wednesday’s plenary debate in Strasbourg on the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and issued the following statement:

“We can see no justification for the delaying tactics being used in the Sobranie that hinder the appointment of a new Speaker of the Assembly and the formation of a government without further delay.

As Members of the European Parliament that have supported all efforts to overcome the current crisis and that have worked hard to support the European perspective for the Macedonian people, it is with deep concern that we see the crisis being unduly prolonged with growing consequences for the country, including the worsening of inter-ethnic relations.

We have already seen the vote on the 2016 Country Report being postponed twice as a direct consequence of the uncertainty in the country and tonight in the plenary of the European Parliament we will debate this situation. Despite this we still strongly believe that the situation in the country can improve by pursuing a democratic course and, as a result, the political crises can be overcame.”