Nominees for Sakharov Prize 2015 announced

Nominees for Sakharov Prize 2015 announced

Six nominees for the European Parliament’s 2015 Sakharov Prize for freedom of thought, chosen by political groups and groups of MEPs, will be presented at a meeting of the Foreign Affairs and Development committees and the Human Rights Subcommittee on 28 September.
The committees will shortlist three finalists on 15 October. The laureate will be decided by political group leaders and Parliament’s President (Conference of Presidents) on 29 October. The award ceremony takes place in Strasbourg on 16 December.

The nominees are:

·         Raif Badawi

·         Democratic opposition in Venezuela embodied by the Mesa de la Unidad Democrática and political prisoners

·         Edna Adan Ismail

·         Boris Nemtsov

·         Nadiya Savchenko

·         Edward Snowden, Antoine Deltour, Stéphanie Gibaud